Exit the King
When: May 11, 12, 13, & 14, 2011
Where: Harbach Theatre

Exit the King

Written by    Eugène Ionesco
Directed byNeil Blackadder

King Berenger has ruled for four centuries, but even monarchs are not immortal. "You are going to die in an hour and a half," one of his two wives tells him, "You're going to die at the end of this show." Berenger's resistance to this announcement provides the starting-point for Exit the King, Eugene Ionesco's 1962 philosophical comedy about human beings' relationships to living and dying. Ionesco is one of the key figures of the so-called "absurdist" theatre, a movement that evolved in the 1950s in France when he, Samuel Beckett, and others began to dispense with almost all the conventional features of dramatic writing and instead explored existential issues through implausible yet resonant theatrical images. Exit the King will thus provide the Knox students and faculty with the opportunity to explore an important strand of theatre history and to create a universe at once fantastical and recognizable.

Read the following articles about our production:
Knox College Theatre: Ionesco's "Exit the King"
"Exit the King" a royal triumph


GuardJacob Schneider
JulietteChloë Luetkemeyer
Queen MargueriteTracy Ewert
Queen MarieDakota Scott
DoctorJack Dryden
KingNoel Sherrard

Production Staff

DirectorNeil Blackadder
Lighting DesignersCraig Choma
Ivy Reid
Scenic DesignerCraig Choma
Assistant Scenic DesignerLauren Neiheisel
Costume DesignerAllisen Smith
Sound DesignerAlex Robertson
Stage ManagerLiz Picurro
Assistant Stage ManagersMarina Capizzi
Jordyn Stewart
Production AssistantJon Hewelt
Scenic ArtistsCraig Choma
Lauren Neiheisel
DramaturgeAmelia Gant
Props MasterKathryn Haynes
Master ElectricianEmily Harvey
Spotlight OperatorMarina Capizzi
Sound Board OperatorsAlex Lindgren
Alex Robertson
Costume Shop CrewLauren Neiheisel
Hannah Compton
Kathleen Donoghue
Alice Fredrickson
Max Glassner
Alyssa Kennamer
Evelyn Langley
Franzesca Mayer
Miranda Loeber
Paul Lurenz III
Kathleen O'Connor
Brandon Parharm
Alex Robertson
Allison Smith
Scene Shop CrewLauren Neiheisel
Avecena Hollingsworth
Emily Cooney
Marina Capizzi
Steve Galdek
Rebekah Heusel
Noel Sherrard
Emily Harvey
Carlyse Owens
Alix DeWald
Nathan Johlas
Anna Munzesheimer
John Mast
Ivy Reid
Liz Picurro
Kin Vong
Jack Dryden
Paul Kenney
Hannah Black

Administrative Staff

ChairpersonNeil Blackadder
House ManagerKate LaRose
Box Office ManagerNellie Ognacevic
PublicityJohnathan Ebbers
Alicia Vallorani
Run CrewKathryn Haynes
Jon Hewelt
Avecena Hollingsworth
Lauren Neiheisel
Carlyse Owens
Jordyn Stewart
facebook    twitter    Knox Theatre